James Pickard
Books for Sale Books Bought Contact Us

Stuart Palmer

Books Bought - Wanted - Sell

These are continual wants so please do quote anytime
UK first editions please - if you have anything of interest - please do Contact Us


Brief History - Biography

Stuart Palmer was an American author who also wrote under the name of Jay Stewart. Born 1905 he served in the US military before becoming a novelist and screenwriter. His main series characters were Hildegarde Withers and Howie Rook. The first novel was called Ace of Jades and was released in 1931 on Mohawk Press, there was no British publication. The author continued to write up until his death in 1968. The character of Withers was enduring and well crafted. Though there were minor similarities to other amateur female sleuths she was unique in her own way and remains endearing today, eminently readable in fact. The British publications benefited tremendously by having some particularly impressive cover artwork, especially the pre war novels and those on the noted publisher Collins Crime Club. Readers should note that there are four books which had alternative titles to those issued in America.
A Sample of Books Wanted

The Penguin Pool Murder
The Puzzle of the Pepper Tree
The Puzzle of the Briar Pipe
The Puzzle of the Happy Hooligan

All pre 1950 books in jacket
Signed editions and original artwork

General Requirements

All of the John Long and Collins Crime Club publications
Lone jackets and early titles sans wrapper if in nice condition.
UK first editions only please.

Payment - Prices Paid
Serious prices paid for fine and rare items - try us you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Contact Us

Final Word
An author who is better known to US readers and collectors, though not unknown to us over here.
A series character that certainly deserves a wider audience.